Be proud of me: I actually slept in until 9:30am today.  Moreover, it is 10:45am and I am still in my pajamas.  Will the decadence never end?? ;)

Going back a bit, the puppy will have to be postponed.  There were three puppies in the potential litter I was going to pick from, but two of them died.  So, sad for the owner and the mama dog, but probably better for me.  What with starting school soon, it’s probably not the best timing to have a puppy anyway.

I co-facilitated a training yesterday at work.  First time I’ve done that.  Honestly, it wasn’t all that different from when I would teach a class or do a presentation at college.  Except it was, of course, way more colloquial.  It helps confirm to me how much I really do like teaching.

Here is an interesting statistic: back in 1950, the average 14-year-old had a vocabulary of 25,000 words.  In 2006, the average 14-year-old had a vocabulary of 10,000 words.  Does anyone else think that is a problem?  If you use an average of, I think it is, 4,000 words a day, where are you going to make up for all the rest?  By reading!  It is imperative that we get kids reading and that we read ourselves.  And if you can’t figure out what a word is, use a dictionary.

I’m still on track with LiveStrong.  I really like that I’m learning about portion sizes and good nutrition.  I am also noticing correlations, such as: if I eat enough fiber, I will feel full for fewer calories than if I don’t get enough fiber.  One of my favourite meals is this: two corn tortillas, 1/2 chicken breast (baked & sliced), 1/2 cup black beans, 2 tbsp homemade guacamole.  It’s roughly 350 calories, 10 g fat, 13 g fiber and 23 g protein.  And if you’re supposed to have between 20-25 g fiber a day (depending on caloric intake), then you’ve got a substantial amount right there.  So tasty and always fills me up.

Well, I suppose it is time for me to shower and start my day.  Adieu.

