I think God might be trying to teach me contentment.

An example: I ran into a fellow that I have not seen since the day we graduated from highschool (10 years ago).  We weren’t friends, so it wasn’t such a big deal.  Only… he has my life.  Or, at least, he has what I hope my life is in 3 or 4 years.  He has gone the exact same educational route I am going, but he is currently working on his PhD, compared to my just beginning an MDiv, because he has a wife who is a nurse who is supporting him through the process.

Another example: A couple days ago, I wore a skirt because it was supposed to be in the mid 70’s (which it may have been for a short while), but as the day went on, the sky grew more overcast.  And that evening, while I was still out and about in my lovely skirt, it poured.  It rained.  Liquid sunshine (as we like to call it sometimes in lieu of real sunshine) fell upon me with abandon.

Trust me when I say there are many other examples of God trying to teach me contentment.

My struggle has been to remain okay with where my life is.  With what life brings me.  My instant default is to wish I had the life I wanted, or to wish life would go my way.  But God frequently doesn’t work that way.  David wrote in Psalm 37:4 “Delight yourself in the Lord; and He will give you the desires of your heart.  Commit your way to the Lord, trust also in Him, and He will do it.”

I don’t think that means that I get whatever I want.  I think it means that if I am delighting myself in the Lord, He will replace my worldly desires with His desires.  He will give me the desires of my heart, will place in my heart the desires He wants me to have.  And if I commit my way to Him, He will be faithful.

God makes all things beautiful in His time. (Ecclesiastes 3:11)

