Frequently, I get these really insane ideas.  Sometimes, they are good ideas.  Most of the time, they are not.

Yesterday, I had decided that I would move to the city, get a job and go swing dancing every night, with a bit of flute and guitar playing thrown in.  I was going to forgo grad school indefinitely so that I could have my chance to quit being responsible, quit moving forward on a plan, quit being practical.  It seemed like a really good idea.

Then I talked to my friend (who is currently teaching English in China), and she essentially talked me out of it.  I think her words resonated with me because her life circumstances feel awfully similar.  We’re nearly the same age and nearly the same life situation of not being where we want to be yet.  “Yet” being the operative word.

Instead of this adventure, I think my parents are going to pay for (help pay for?) me to attend the ETS conference in November.  I have dreamed of the day I would get to attend one of the conferences, but didn’t think it would be for quite a while, since my finances are rather slim.  I think I am choosing this trip instead of one to Disney World, actually.  Which should also show you just how much of a nerd I am.

Having something to look forward to helps me to be okay with waiting another year to get started.  Now all I need to do is find a job for post-VISTA, which is ending in five weeks.

