I’ve always considered myself to be a planner, to the -enth degree.  But I’ve noticed an interesting tendency in my life to make impulsive decisions whenever it comes to large life changes.  I wonder if I get so annoyed at my own planning and need for detail that I sabotage that part of me by making big decisions, spur of the moment.  And yet, many of those decisions have been the best I’ve made.

That said, I’m going to grad school in 2.5 weeks. 

I called up my school yesterday, asking about attending in January, since I knew I’d missed the boat for this semester.  They said, “are you sure it’s too late?”  And that’s how it all started.  I had to update my application (done), apply for housing (done) and submit my updated FAFSA (done).  I’ve paid the fees, including the registration fee.  And it even looks like I have a very good chance of getting my own room in the housing.  (They offer two bedroom apartments, with between 2-4 students per apartment.)  Move in date is August 25, with orientation on August 27.

The timing could not be better.  I finished VISTA, have no other job lined up.  Yes, I’ll be leaving friends and the class I teach at church, but that would always be the case.  I don’t have any money, but I never will (here’s to hoping student loans will cover everything).  So I’m taking this huge step of faith, but it seems like everything is lining up perfectly.  And this decision feels right and feels good.  I really think God cleared the way for this to work out.

I am incredibly excited.

