I don’t think this blog will be coherent, so bear with me.  But with any luck, it will be entertaining.

Today, I went to Starbucks to get Greek done.  They’re having a “free petite pastry” with a specialty drink deal.  I had two iced Americanos, hence two free pastries.  I forgot it was Lent!  Lame, lame, lame.  I suppose the only way I can properly make this up is to continue fasting this Sunday to make up for today.  (Did I mention I gave up sweets for Lent?)

Also, I am working my way through the first three weeks of St. Ignatius’ Spiritual Exercises during Lent.  I’m doing each twice as long and after Easter I will work my way through week four.  I admit this: so far I fail.  Since I’m doing an “at home” retreat, I’m supposed to spend one hour each day on this.  Day one, I managed 30 minutes of prayer.  Day two I forgot.  Day three (today), I only got in 25 minutes of prayer.  I had better up my game!  But you know, it’s the first time I’ve done something like this, so I suppose, just as with any discipline, it takes practice.

I met with my historical theology professor today to talk about a project for class, and he also gave me some great direction for my thesis. He suggested looking at John Chrysostom’s writings because apparently the guy wrote about how the homeless are an icon of Jesus (more so than any man made icon could ever be).  Anyway, the whole meeting was fabulous, and I left very encouraged.  On another note, I said something about not having any friends here and he didn’t believe me (I must appear very social), so I had to explain that no one wants to be my friend (too busy?), hence why I need a church where I can find people to be friends with.

There was a blast from my past today that I’m not sure I appreciate.

Watermelon yogurt is absolutely terrible.  Don’t ever buy it.  Really, don’t.

In less than a week, if everything goes to plan, I will be tattooed.  Can you imagine?  Me, with a tattoo.  I will be permanently disfigured.  No one will ever love me.  I will never get a real job.  I will be a social outcast.  Okay, not really, but I am sure those thoughts will be there somewhere, spurred on by my conservative upbringing.  I’m actually really excited, but really scared all at the same time.  I know I will like it; I’m just worried that I will be a big wimp during the process.  Willpower!

Alright, that’s it for now folks.  Thanks for making it through my rambles.

