If you asked me to give up books, I’m pretty sure I would rather cut off a limb than live without the written word.  No joke.  I have scads of books, and not one that I am not willing to read more than once.  Most have been read several times over, although there is a growing number that I haven’t read at all (mostly due to my busy schedule).  Today, I purchased 11 new books from Amazon.

In case you’re curious what I’m interested in, here’s the list:

1. Surprised by Hope: Rethinking Heaven, the Resurrection, and the Mission of the Church, by NT Wright.
2. Mother Teresa: A Complete Authorized Biography, by Kathryn Spink.
3. The Visual Food Lover’s Guide: Includes essential information on how to buy, prepare and store over 1,000 types of food, by QA International.
4. Dark Night of the Soul, by St. John of the Cross.
5. The Imitation of Christ, by Thomas a Kempis.
6. Grimm’s Fairy Tales, by Jacob and Wilhelm Grimm.
7. Interior Castle, by St. Teresa of Avila.
8. Neither Poverty nor Riches: A Biblical Theology of Possessions, by Craig L. Blomberg.
9. The Early Christians: In Their Own Words, edited by Eberhard Arnold.
10. God in the Alley: Being and Seeing Jesus in a Broken World, by Greg Paul.
11. Precious Remedies Against Satan’s Devices, by Thomas Brooks.

It was hard to choose which books I would buy from my many and long lists.  I splurged and gave myself a $100 limit, which is way more than I ever spend on books at one time “just because.”  All but two books were from my “Books to make me smarter” or my “Thesis Type Books” list.  Some have been on my lists for several years, some for a few days.  All I am completely excited to own.

It’s just superb.

