I’d like to be one of those people who says they’re dating Jesus.  When someone asks if I’m in a relationship or if I’m single, I want to confidently and knowingly say, “Jesus is my boyfriend.”  However, the practicals always prohibit me.

One, do we think teenage Jesus had a girlfriend?  I seriously doubt it.  And not because He wasn’t a sexual being, because He must have been.  Probably because He knew his greater purpose, knew marriage was not in His future.

Two, you can’t have sex with Jesus.  Not even figuratively.  Now, you can talk about Him holding your hand, walking with you through life and so on, but it really does stop there.  [Note: I do not support having sex with your boyfriend.  I do support waiting until marriage.]

Three, there is the implication that you are dating Jesus until someone better comes along.  I cannot tell you how many people have told me they’re dating Jesus only to start dating a human boy not very long after.  Was Jesus not a good enough boyfriend?  Unless you’re taking a lifelong vow of celibacy, a monastic sort of marriage vow to the Church, I advocate staying away from this.

Four, it’s just silly.  The entire Church is the Bride of Christ, no one person anymore than any other person.

So when you tell me you’re dating Jesus and I say, “No sex with Jesus!,” don’t take it personally.  It’s just me, pointing out the obvious.

