I’m reading The Irresistible Revolution: Living as an Ordinary Radical, by Shane Claiborne.  It’s one of the books I picked as introductory material for my thesis on homelessness.  One of the reasons I picked my topic, broadly as I have yet to narrow it, is because I want my thesis to create change in my life, if not in the lives of others.  I want to be influenced by the Gospel.  I want to live out the life Jesus calls us to as Christ followers.

I’m reading this book and already am feeling convicted, and I’m not even halfway through.  In many ways, I’ve already been ruined for ordinary life, and I think this project is going to ruin me the rest of the way.  I sincerely hope it does.  But at the same time, I am afraid of that, afraid of what it means, because I am still holding onto the material, the temporal, instead of holding onto the Kingdom.

One of the penitential prayers from The Book of Alternative Services of the Anglican Church of Canada (and I’m sure very similar to others), is as follows:

Most Merciful God,
we confess that we have sinned against you
in thought, word, and deed,
by what we have done
and by what we have left undone.
We have not loved you with our whole heart;
we have not loved our neighbors as ourselves.
We are truly sorry and we humbly repent.
For the sake of your Son Jesus Christ,
have mercy on us and forgive us,
that we may delight in your will,
and walk in your ways,
to the glory of your name. Amen.

Amen.

