Why is my biggest temptation in life academics?  There has got to be something seriously wrong with me.

I had the opportunity to sit in on an ‘interview’ by our accreditation board today at my seminary with several other students.  Being there, hearing about the other programs, those in the MDiv TS or the ThM… It made me think: perhaps I should not stop at a MABS; perhaps I should get my ThM as originally planned.  Can I get a PhD with only a MABS?  That is the real question.

Oh but these lucky folk who are taking not just Greek, but Hebrew, Aramaic, German, Latin…  I am so jealous.  So entirely jealous.

The problem is that I also want to get into real life.  And I don’t know that I’d want to stay here for further studies past my MABS anyway.  A lot of that is my lack of support structure, but I suppose moving won’t help me there.  (That is where I am envious of married people, who have a built-in support system with them as they navigate through life.)

I can’t be in school forever.  I just can’t.  And I don’t even know if I have what it takes for further studies.  Will my thesis be compelling enough to convince someone to take me on in PhD studies?  Will I be able to turn it into anything worthwhile?  Could I publish someday?  Should I just get out there, in the real world, and get on with it?  Whatever it is…

Help!

