There is something delicious about translating the New Testament from Greek into English.  I love the sense of accomplishment when I’ve finished a chapter.  I also love being able to understand why translators chose certain words/phrases, or to begin to question why they did.  It’s almost a cathartic experience for me.  I’m afraid that most of my classmates, from what I hear, would not agree.  (I even almost didn’t go to the hospital on Friday because I kept telling the EMT’s that I had to get my Greek done and didn’t have time for a visit to the hospital.  Ha.  In the midst of being in shock, I was worried about a lot of strange things…)

I love working through a problem spot in the text (problem to me because I am only a first year Greek student) and finally finding the word.  I enjoy the feeling of figuring out what the grammar is saying, piecing together phrases even though they are not set up at all like English.

And it is very likely that when I am done with academics (be it after a Masters of after PhD work), I will likely never “need” Greek (or any other Biblical/Theological language) again.  It’s kind of sad, isn’t it?

