I’ve realized recently that now that I have a tattoo, I believe it could, in theory, be possible for me to be married.  Sort of.  Let me explain.

I’ve always been a commitment-phobe.  It’s not that I can’t keep my commitments; it’s that I worry I will commit to the wrong person and be stuck.  And having seen so many awful marriages, I think this is a valid concern.  You can’t ever get rid of a tattoo.  Once you have it, you have it.  Yes, there are laser treatments, but I hear those leave scars.  Kind of like divorce.  Of course, my tattoo can’t decide to leave me or to not like me anymore.  So I’m not saying this is a perfect comparison.

Moreover, I’ve always wondered what people meant when they say they “just know.”  (I’d like to cast some doubts on this still, citing once more the prevalence of bad marriages.)  But then I got my tattoo after wanting one for 11 years, just never finding the right design.  As soon as I saw it, I knew, and within just a few months, I got it.  That’s some fast-moving after waiting so long, yes?  But I have no doubts at all about wanting this design for the rest of my earthly life.  Maybe that’s how it works with people, too?

So, you see, now I know that it is possible for someone like me to someday get married, should I ever manage to date someone who made me feel better to be in a relationship than to be single.  I won’t be holding my breath.  But there’s at least slight hope.

