I went to a church tonight that two people recommended I try out.  Having gone, I am asking why they did such a thing.  I certainly picked the wrong night, anyway.  Instead of a sermon, they had all the pastors/elders up on stage to tell why the lead pastor was resigning.  His reasons were twofold: one, he wants to get back to his original ministry goal and two, he wants his kids to have friends in Sunday School.  He talked about how the past 7 years, since he founded the church, it’s been a burden on him and his family (one they took on, as he kept reiterating), but the time was over for the burden of this church, apparently. It seemed to me like his ministry never took off like he hoped, so now he’s onto greener pastures.

He and the other pastors repeatedly said that the leave has nothing to do with bad blood, no conflict, no troubles, they’re all best friends, etc.  I wondered if they protested too much against an imaginary speculation.  I questioned the lead pastor’s choice of words, choice of reasons.  He sounded resentful, but as though he was trying to not sound resentful.  It sounded to me like he got himself into something too deep without realizing the cost until it was too late.

The big question that they addressed was would the church still go on?  (Yes, it will.)  I was shocked that this was a question.  But all the folks up front kept saying how they’d followed this guy for so many years, they didn’t know how to follow  anyone else.  And then I realized: they’re a low-grade cult.  Okay, not really, but didn’t Paul talk about not aligning yourself with a person, but with Christ?  A good leader will never make himself indispensable.  The ministry he leads should be able to go on without him, without a hitch.

So, I went to this church, I went the wrong night, and then I judged them.  That doesn’t say too much about me, really.

