“Will accept verbal abuse for one dollar.”

I knew the man’s sign was just a gimmick to catch people’s attention, but as he sat on the corner of the on-ramp with a woman and their dog, I could not help but think, “This is not right.”   No one should feel as if they don’t matter.  No one should feel marginalized.  No one should feel as if they are worth less simply because of their life situation.  No one deserves verbal abuse because of where they are in life or who they are.  God calls us to so much more.  And created in the image of God, we are so much more.

I came home, packed a ziplock bag with a few items (meal bars, toothbrushes & tooth paste, socks, etc) and grabbed a couple of water bottles, then walked back to the people, hoping they’d still be there.  I didn’t know what to say, so my words were awkward, but I did say that they were worth something and that they were cared about.  I meant to say more, but didn’t know how to.  And, I was aware that they were “working,” so I didn’t want to be a distraction.

We need to be doing more.  I need to be doing more.

