[Side note: I really like Sara Bareilles’ music.  If you’re not familiar, you should youtube her.]

Tonight, I’m going to vespers at a local Antiochian Orthodox church with folks from class.  I’m looking forward to it.  I read the “what to expect” section, but I still don’t have a clue as to what to expect.

This morning, I had a conversation with a friend about my issues with the difference between the Old Testament God and the New Testament God.  (Let it be said that I believe they are the same.)  But this is one of my most common and largest struggles with faith.  One thing I appreciate about this friend of mine is that he has the same struggles in that regard, so he understands instead of either judging me or brushing it off.  My friend told me about a book Greg Boyd is working on called “Jesus Verses Jehovah: Wresting With the Genocidal God of the Old Testament in Light of the Crucified God of the New.”  This book definitely looks like it will be right up my alley.  And although I do not confess to have read much (any?) Boyd yet, I do have one of his books on my summer reading list, and from what I hear, he is an author I will appreciate greatly.  In addition, browsing through the books he’s written, it looks like I should get into him a bit more.

Maybe one day I will be able to answer more of my faith questions.  Or maybe I will become more okay with the unknown.  I know I believe; it is mostly when I dig deeper and probe and look at the academics of it that I start questioning.  Which is perhaps how it should be?

