Yesterday, I found a half folded slip of paper in my recipe box that was titled: “Carb Substitutes.”  On it, I had copied down a list of easy to substitute ingredients, mostly for a more healthy form of carbohydrates rather than zero carbs.

Today, I tried one of the substitutes for a pancake recipe.  When you make it, if you use the immersion blender, I would recommend mixing the ingredients first.  And when you cook them, it’s the same as normal pancakes except that if you’re waiting for the edges to look dry or for the top to bubble, it won’t really happen.  Just check underneath and see how they’re doing.

I didn’t take any pictures (I wish I had), but it was too early yet to remember such things.  And they were delicious.  Good flavor, good consistency, nice and light.  But filling.

Try it. I think you’ll like it.

Oatmeal Pancakes

1/2 c. oatmeal
1/4 c. cottage cheese
2 eggs
1/4 tsp vanilla
dash cinnamon

Blend in blender or with immersion blender until smooth.  Makes about three 5″ pancakes.

