My visit home has been pretty good so far.  I’ve gotten to see friends and family, and have done very little of anything that resembles work.  I’ve read several novels.  I went on a hike with my dad yesterday.  Granted, tomorrow evening the party comes to an end (or just gets started?) as that is when I’m going to be watching my four nieces for two nights so that my brother and sister-in-law can have an early anniversary trip.  I love my nieces, but I will not deny that going from zero to four kids (ages 3, 4.5, 7 & 9.5) is exhausting.

But one of the unfortunate parts of being home is that when I am around my parents, I usually decide that I never want to get married myself.  Hence, I don’t want anything that could resemble a relationship.  It might be entirely illogical, but I can’t help but feel (even though I know better) that there is no point in risking marriage to end up miserable.  And it does seem to me that you can’t help but end up miserable.  This is when I want to allow my saboteur tendencies in full force.  Because, by golly, being around my folks makes me pretty happy to be single.

I think I need counseling.  Seriously.

