So I made these homemade baked mozzarella sticks tonight.  And it wasn’t exactly a success, but it wasn’t a failure, either.  Here are my recommendations, if you should ever feel led to try: freeze your cheese sticks first, put some Italian seasoning in the breading, and for the breading, just make a thick batter with egg and flour.  I really mean thick.  (Did you ever do deep fried Oreos covered with pancake batter?  Think thicker.  And also, now I want a deep fried Oreo.)  Then bake it at 400 for 8-10 minutes until crispy, and hopefully not exploded.  But even if it explodes, it’s still tasty.

I’m also making homemade re-fried beans (minus the re-fry) in my NEW crock-pot.  They should be ready in a little less than an hour. I hope they’re tasty because it’s a new recipe for me.  I’m making homemade enchiladas tomorrow (with homemade enchilada sauce) and I wanted to be able to offer some typical sides.

Speaking of crock-pots, I finally have embraced my single state of being and purchased a wee little 2qt crock-pot.  It’s beautiful, though.  And I can’t wait to use it all. the. time.

