Quick note: I’m feeling exponentially better today. I had a good talk with a friend yesterday, AND I finally am going to start going to counseling this week. I just feel like I’m not handling things as well as I want to, so I’m hopeful at the prospect of having someone help me figure out what’s going on.

I wish I had the space, the time, the energy to write about all the things I’m thinking about in regard to what I’m learning lately.  One of the books I’m reading is 20th Century Theology by Stanley Grenz and Roger Olson.  I was wary at first, but other than being a heavy read, this book is superb.  I’m finally starting to understand a bit of what’s gone on in the last century or so in regard to theology.  I wish I had read this in undergrad.

One of the things that is funny to me is that I want to find something good in every person I read about.  That is, I always find at least one idea that I could get on board with, and then they end up being entirely heretical or just delving into bad theology or abandoning Christianity entirely.  It’s rather disappointing at times.

One in particular that I want to love is Bonhoeffer.  From my undergrad, I never got the impression that he was much to care about.  I don’t know where I got that idea, but there I had it.  But reading about him makes me want to read his works, and as far as I can see, I can get on board with his writings and ideas… up until he was involved in an assassination plot.  But should I completely discount his life up until that point simply because I disagree with the direction he chose to go in the end?  I hope not.

A quote I liked in particular: “It is only by living completely in this world that one learns to believe.  One must abandon every attempt to make something of oneself, whether it be a saint, a converted sinner, a churchman (the priestly type, so-called!) a righteous man or an unrighteous one, a sick man or a healthy one.  This is what I mean by worldliness–taking life in one’s stride…. It is in such a life that we throw ourselves utterly into the arms of God and participate in his sufferings in the world.” -Bonhoeffer

Just stuff to think about.

