Here is the abstract I wrote for my Theology & Ethics class. It’s a bit longer than it’s supposed to be (I got excited), and excuse the format as it’s exactly how the professor requested.  Frankly, I should like to say much more than I did, but I’m already 125 words over the limit.  However, I thought you might like to see what I’m working on:

In this paper, I will argue that according to the nature of gender identity as found in the Trinity, it is not only a grievous wrong to view and treat women as commodities, but it expressly goes against the Bible and the desire that God as Trinity has for His created beings.

This subject is important to be personally for several reasons.  One, my gender in and of itself makes the study of women and faith of utmost interest.  I have long been a Christian, have been a woman my entire life, and have had quite the time of reconciling my gender to my faith.  While in the United States, the problem is not even half as prevalent as it is in many other countries (especially third world and developing nations, but also including countries such as China), the attitude that many men, and many Christian men in specific, have toward women is nothing short of demeaning and wrongly placed.  Much of it becomes an undercurrent, found in the language we use about God, about gender, about identity in the Trinity, and it undermines the inherent value of the female gender.

Two, I desire for men and women to be equals in faith, to have equal access to the Trinity without barriers.  For this to happen, there needs to be a better understanding of gender identity.  I would like to be a part of the solution in this widespread misunderstanding.

Three, I do not believe that women were ever intended to be treated as less than equals, but throughout traditional understandings of the Bible and culture, they are frequently treated as property and commodities.  Even in the country we live in, as developed as we believe we are, there is still the implication that women are commodities for the express use of the men in their lives.  One can find this in attitudes about the roles of women, what women are allowed to do, how women should be in subjection to men.  All of these things, and more, set up the idea that men are in control of women, that men have some sort of ownership over women.  This is plainly false.

In what follows, I will first develop a Trinitarian understanding of gender identity, primarily relying on Miroslav Volf’s work in this arena.  I will then delineate the implications for true gender identity and how that plays out in faith and understanding.  Finally, I will address the inherent wrongness of continuing to allow women to be viewed and treated as commodities within this framework.

