I am practicing showing my heart instead of my walls.  And you know what?  It feels good.  I like feeling as if I can be happy, as if I can be real, as if I can be a bit more vulnerable.  I like feeling as if I don’t have to posture or pretend.  I want this to become normal for me, to become a habit instead of living out of bad habits.  I want to live in the love of Christ, fully.  I want to be the woman God created me to be.  And I think that day by day, I will come closer to that goal.

Since May, I’ve been reading my Bible (in English) almost every day.  This is the first time I’ve done that since I went to Bible College in 2003.  (Embarrassing, but true.)  I’ve been working on a read through the Bible in a year plan, but I started in 1 Samuel.  It’s been so good to be in the Word every day, to re-read familiar and unfamiliar words.  It feels relieving.

Reading the Bible in the original languages has also been a breath of new air.  Especially in Greek, as we’ve been working through Mark.  He’s so narrative, so relational… reading the text in Greek has made the colours brighter, the details to pop.  I feel like I’m in the story instead of just reading about it.  I am sure that as I become more proficient and comfortable with Hebrew, it will feel the same.

God has been doing some cool stuff in my life, and I like it.  It’s hard, but it’s so good.  Praise God for His infinite and new mercies, every day of my life.

[Side note: I read through Song of Songs today and recognized a bunch of verses that are used in children’s Sunday school songs, and I will never see them the same way again! haha]

