As I struggle through yet another Greek assignment (i.e. wrestle through parsings, calls and the like), I again am wishing that I had even just one other person in my class who cared to share that struggle with me.  It seems that my classmates who are on the same level as I am, with regard to language knowledge, tend to prefer to turn to Accordance (or some other similar software), citing that for their answer instead of the actual reason.  I don’t care to argue with the brilliance of modern technology, but I do wish that they would prefer to know why it is the right answer instead of simply that it is the right answer.  I only have paper tools (and the occasional look at blueletterbible.org to check the parsing in desperate times, although the KJV uses a different manuscript) in order to find answers.  I have to search and look and struggle on the difficult passages.  And if I do find an assistance, I still check the why.

I am not saying this makes me a better scholar.  I recognize that most of the others in my class merely want a working knowledge of Greek, whereas I am considering going on in PhD studies for this language.  My goals are different.  But it sure would be nice to have someone to work through problems with instead of having to have a go at it by myself.

So then I come to Hebrew.  And at this point, I get frustrated if the tutors try to explain something in technical terms that I haven’t learned yet.  I don’t mind hearing the reason “it’s a weak verb,” but I don’t want the full explanation at this point. I haven’t learned it yet; I don’t have the resources to find it on my own; my professor has yet to deem the knowledge indispensable.  Is this me being lazy?  I hope not.  It is not as if I do not wish to have all the answers.  It is that I have been told that at this point, I can’t have them all.  And so, in my pragmatism, I do not let the tutors overwhelm me with too much information.  (Some are better than others at knowing the difference between helpful explanations and too much.)

And I am beginning to truly enjoy Hebrew.  There is a hope in my heart that I will come to love it as much as Greek.  But even if I do, I fear it, too, will be a lonely road as my tutors all graduate and move on and I am left behind.  Hopefully there will be others in my classes who will share my desire to truly understand a language instead of just be able to use it.

