So on Friday, I had the urge to bake bread.  Herb rolls, in particular.  I had a recipe I’d scribbled down from a magazine a few years ago, and I’d never tried it yet.  It was called “Overnight Soft Herb Rolls.”

There are a few things you would assume from such a title, and I will say, the only thing that turned out true is the Herb roll part.  Wait, that doesn’t sound nice.  They were soft on the inside, with a delightfully just crunchy enough crust.  But overnight?  I must have written the recipe wrong.  There was nothing about overnight, and oddly, I only wrote down the second rising (I assume it was the second).  Perhaps the first rising was supposed to be overnight in the refrigerator?

I also wonder how it would turn out with fresh herbs instead of dried?  You’d have to adjust the amounts, but I bet it would be great.

Regardless, the recipe turned out spectacularly.  Add some butter, and you can’t beat it.  Incidentally, I gave at least half the recipe away, and two of the guys I gave a roll had nothing but praise.  Is there anything better than men enjoying your baking/cooking?

Soft Herb Rolls (my version), makes 12

1 pkg active dry yeast (1 1/4 tsp)
3 tbsp sugar
1 tsp salt
1 tbsp parsley
1 tbsp chives
1 tbsp rosemary
2 tbsp melted butter, cooled
1 egg
1 c. milk
3 1/2 – 3 3/4 c. flour

1. Soften yeast in 1/4 c. water.  Stir in sugar, salt, herbs, butter, egg and milk.  Add 3 1/4 c. flour; stir to moisten.
2. Knead on floured surface until smooth and elastic, 8-10 minutes.  Add flour as necessary. Place in greased bowl with damp towel on top; let rise till double, 1-1 1/2 hours.
3. Shape into 12 balls, place on greased baking sheet (or use parchment paper instead of greasing). Cover with damp towel (might stick a little…) and let rise till double, 30-45 minutes.
4. Bake at 350 for 25-30 minutes or until golden. (Mine were perfect at 25 minutes, so maybe check a little before.)

