One of my friends has recently been blogging about his guilty pleasures, and I thought it would be interesting to respond with confessions of my own. See his blogs about guilty pleasures here and here.

Note: the order has no bearing on importance.

1. Britney Spears.  I love her music.  It’s so much of a guilty pleasure that I don’t even want to admit it to my computer, so I have yet to actually purchase a cd (but I just purchased her greatest hits off amazon which will be arriving in a couple days).  She had some off years, but for the most part, it’s great, and fun to dance to.

2. Boy Bands, specifically *NSYNC and Backstreet Boys. But who doesn’t?  I used to have a crush on Justin Timberlake, and again, who didn’t?  Their music is just the delightfully teenage, tug on your feminine heartstrings kind of music that you can’t help but love.  And men can love them for other reasons, but this is my perspective as a female.

3. Rap and R&B.  Sometimes I downplay this, by saying I used to listen to rap.  Which is true, but if given the chance, I still listen to rap and r&b and I love it (I own a very small amount).  I think I am afraid of being associated with either my 16 year old self, or that for some reason, it will be seen as the type of music a girl like me wouldn’t like.  I’m not sure why I don’t like to admit this one.

4. Chick lit.  But I don’t mean the sketchy stuff or love stories.  I just mean purely fluffy novels meant for women.  Some are less fluffy, such as Jane Austen’s novels, but others are pure fluff.  And I love them.  If you ask me about these books, I might not be willing to own up without several caveats and explanations.  I think this is a guilty pleasure because I want to be seen as intelligent, and I am worried about being judged for my reading material.  So I try to read at least one real book for every fluffy book.

5. Soda pop.  Every so often, I just get a craving for soda.  And I usually indulge.  This tends to averages to no more than once or twice a month, at most.  However, as I try to be healthy in general, and I try to not have HFCS (high fructose corn syrup), I don’t want to admit that sometimes, I just want an unhealthy, sugar laden beverage of choice.  Right now, I have two 8oz bottles of Dr. Pepper hidden in the back of a cupboard, waiting for the next cravings.

6. Dancing to music when I’m alone.  Yes, I partner dance in public.  But this is an entirely different kind of music and is not a kind I indulge in when around others.  It’s my uninhibited style of dancing, whatever I feel like, to whatever music I want to listen to when the mood strikes.  I have been caught only once, when I was in high school and I didn’t hear my mom open my door…

So there you go.  Those are a few of my guilty pleasures (I couldn’t think of any others).  Any of your own you’d care to share?

