Brian passed away early this morning.  Why God let a godly man who lived selflessly and wholly for Him die is beyond my comprehension.  But I know he’s there with Jesus, fully healed, whole.  Thus, the selfishness of my own heart is plain to see.

The worst part about death is that the world keeps turning.  No one pauses.  There is no time to simply be.  I myself have an assignment–a personal syllabus for my masters colloquium class– due today (over a week before classes begin) that I only today realized was due.  I haven’t even begun to think about it, yet I have to somehow muster up enough concentration to write something of worth.  And today, I despise this assignment for encroaching on my personal grief.

—–

I decided to include an excerpt from a note Brian wrote us all when he let us know what was going on, a year ago:

“I won’t try to describe to you what goes through a person’s mind when they are given news like this, because I can’t. You can’t adequately describe it with words typed on a page. Emotionally, spiritually, mentally- there are a lot of ways in which I am dealing with this right now. This is all i can say at this point, and I hope it makes sense: My entire life has been one big adventure. Never once have I felt I was destined for mediocrity in any way. I’ve said it many times, and I’ll say it again- for better or worse, there has never been a dull moment in my life. I’ve had more adventure and excitement in the last seven years than many people have had in their whole lives. And I am eternally grateful for all that. And what’s more, I have been blessed by meeting and making friends with some of the bestpeople this world has to offer. I have done God’s work in almost every corner of the world, and seen Him use me in astounding ways that I could never have even predicted. In short, I have lived life to the fullest, at least according to my definition of living life. That is NOT to say I’m going to roll over and take this lying down. I intend to fight this with every ounce of who I am. There are still many people who need ministering to, still great friends and loved ones to be made, and still a few corners of the world I have not seen with my own eyes or tread with my own feet. There is so much more I could accomplish for God’s glory. But I need to make it clear that I don’t think God owes me anything. Everything I have and have done has been because of His grace alone. I am far from deserving of the life and rich blessings He has given me. When He decides my work on Earth is done, then that’s that. I’m not gonna argue. Done deal.

One last thing- this whole address is NOT about trying to generate pity or get attention. Those are the last things I want. If you know me, you would know that I would despise the idea of everybody sitting around feeling sorry for me. UGH. I shudder. How about this: instead of responding to this with pity and condolensces, take a moment to remember that we serve a God who is bigger than all this, and He loves to do miracles. So start praying for one.

Much love,

—Brian Dale Welch”

