For some  reason, I have agreed to participate in a conference my school puts on, in the form of a workshop presenter for the paper on gender that I posted previously.  It is in the beginning of March, and I will have 55 minutes to fill…  It should be interactive…  Yikes.  In addition, by the end of the month, I have to have a title, summary paragraph, picture and bio submitted for my workshop.  Double yikes.  Mind, this is all in addition to my coursework.

Now, this conference is nothing big or exciting, in the big scheme of things, but to me, it is both big and exciting.  And slightly scary.  It is not as if I haven’t done anything like this before, but I always knew my audience.  And the presentations I have done were entirely school related, which for some reason felt like less pressure.  It is not as if anyone will expect me to be anything other than I am: a seminary student.  But I will still be expected to be able to dialogue intelligently about my topic, to engage my audience, to be prepared.

I need to rework my paper, to improve it, to smooth it out and take care of the issues that remain currently.  I need to continue to study my topic, to become more familiar with it, to become comfortable with dialoguing about it.

I will view this as what I believe it to be: a learning opportunity for me.  And with any luck, a learning opportunity for the few who decide to attend my workshop.

