It’s the second day of the first week of classes.  Yesterday, I spent the afternoon organizing my life.  Printing syllabi, organizing notebooks, figuring out my schedule…

I apparently need my assignments written down in three different places: the syllabus, my planner and monthly calendars I make to hang up on my wall.  The calendar is great: I put all my due dates for projects, papers and tests so that I can see at a glance what my weeks/months will look like.  And with any luck, I can work ahead when there are weeks that are stacked.  It’s a sight to see, since I put up all five months at once, in a giant conglomeration.

Today I must begin doing homework.  And I will.  I will.

But this semester, I am making some decisions about the priorities in my life.

Yes, school has to be a priority: I’m paying for it, and I want to do as well as I can.  BUT, last semester, and typically most semesters, I tend to drop off the face of the planet socially and I tend to stop doing things like exercising.

This semester will be different.  I am committing to working out every weekday morning.  I am committing to attending theology pub every week.  I am committing to attending a home community group every week.  I am committing to attending church every week (which normally does happen anyway), and I am committing to helping out with the babies once a month.  I am committing to honestly making people a priority: this doesn’t mean that I will just hang out simply to avoid doing homework, but that I will spend intentional time with people, and if they need me or need to talk, I will make time for them regardless.

I realized the other day that I’m almost done with school.  This is my last semester of coursework, then it’s just my thesis, and then I’m done.  And you know what?  School isn’t going to be waiting for me when I’m done.  School is not a support network nor will it be.  My support network is largely (not entirely) from my church and if I don’t start cultivating those relationships, I won’t have anything when I’m done here.  And life and faith require community and relationships.

This semester is going to be busy, but I think it will be worth it.

