The Lenten season is coming up.  February 22 is Ash Wednesday.  Have you made any Lenten fasting plans yet?  If not, I have a suggestion.

Consider participating in Chris Seay’s A Place at the Table: 40 Days of Solidarity with the Poor.  Here is the description from Amazon:

“In a culture built on consumption–especially of food–it is easy to forget the poor that Jesus cared so much about. Following the pattern of his successful Advent Conspiracy, Chris Seay invites readers on a journey of self-examination, discipline, and renewed focus on Jesus that will change their lives forever.  He challenges readers to eat like the poor for forty days in solidarity with a much-neglected group of people, and to donate the money they save on groceries to a charity or project that serves the poor in concrete ways.”

I don’t think this will be an easy thing for me to do, but I like the premise.  I like the challenge of eating like most of the world does for an semi-extended amount of time.  I like the fact that it is practical and that I will donate the money I’ve saved.  I am thinking about this now, because at least for me, it will take planning: I will have to make sure I don’t have perishables around that I can’t eat once Lent starts, and I will want to come up with recipes that make sense.  And I prefer to do a Lenten fast that matters, that I’ve put thought into.

If you want to see the chapel Seay did for Compassion, it is well worth your time: Will You Take a Place at the Table?

Let’s do it.

