Alright.  Here’s the thing.  I love cake.  I mean, who doesn’t?  And I think I love chocolate cake naked, no frosting.  But… I can’t make cake.  Really.  I can make some types of cake (like upside down cake), but most turn out… not like I imagine.  They’re dense or coarse or not very good tasting.  Trust me, I’ve tried almost everything.  In the end, I buy box cake mix.

But, no more! I have discovered, a la my Moosewood Restaurant Cookbook, a chocolate cake recipe that is not only easy, but delicious and everything I imagine a cake should be.  Obviously, that means I must share the recipe, so here you go!

Six-Minute Chocolate Cake

1 1/2 c. flour
1/3 c. baking cocoa
1 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp salt
1 c. sugar
1/2 c. oil
1 c. cold water or brewed coffee
2 tsp vanilla
2 tbsp vinegar

Grease & flour 8×8 square pan or 9″ round pan.

Mix all dry ingredients. Add oil, water/coffee, vanilla and mix until smooth. Add vinegar and mix quickly until blended. Bake 25-30 minutes or until done. 375 degree oven.

[UPDATE: I made a peanut butter frosting to go on top, and I cannot express how delicious it was. Try it!]

