The Dessert & Appetizer party went really well.  More people came than I expected, including all my church friends.  It was fun to intersect my two groups.  And there were so many delicious and delightful things to eat.  I found my new favourite appetizer recipe, which is the one I made last night.  It was easy, so I’ll share it with you.  I am also growing my own kitchen herbs, so I used my basil for the first time last night. Fancy!

Tomato and Mozzarella Tart from The America’s Test Kitchen Family Cookbook (The cookbook has more detailed instructions & is for one large tart, whereas I wanted to make mini tarts.)

Ingredients: Puff Pastry, 1 egg, Parmesan cheese, Roma tomatoes, mozzarella cheese, fresh basil, 2 tbsp olive oil, 1 clove garlic.

Cut tomatoes into 1/4″ slices; lay on paper towel. Sprinkle with salt and let drain for 25-30 minutes. Before using, press with paper towel to get rid of remaining moisture.

Roll out defrosted pastry a bit; cut into 12 pieces (each sheet).  Put on parchment paper on a baking sheet.  Brush with beaten egg.  Prick with fork.  Sprinkle with parmesan cheese.  Bake at 425 until lightly golden, 8-10 minutes.  Let cool slightly.  Cover with mozzarella cheese.  Place a slice of tomato on each.  Crush garlic and whisk with olive oil.  Drip over tomato.  Bake at 400,  7-10 minutes, until cheese is melted and edges of pastry are golden.  Cut basil leaves into small pieces, sprinkle on top.  Serve warm.

