Date three went well, I think. But I’m more confused than ever.  This must be why I always just stay single: it’s easier.  The question I have for myself is if that is really such a bad thing.

Society, especially Christian society, tells us that to be happy in life, one must find a life partner and get married.  And I can see some of the benefits to getting married, especially in the realm of companionship.  But there are also a lot of downsides: lack of independence and lack of freedom being two big ones.

I’m not missing out by being single, no more than married people are missing out by being married.

I like making plans for myself and doing what I want, when I want.  I like not worrying about what the next step is, except for my own personal self.  I like not having to take anyone else into consideration.  I like the lack of vulnerability and the ability to be in control.  (I am not saying those last few are the best things ever, but they are true.)

I suppose I don’t have to make any decisions yet other than if I want to go on date four, if he asks.  It’s like Kevin said to Joe Fox in You’ve Got Mail: “I always take a relationship to the next level, and if it works okay I take it to the next level after that, until I can finally get to the level where it becomes absolutely necessary for me to leave.”

