I went on vacation to Forks, WA.  It was everything I hoped it would be.  Twilight-wise, that is.  Otherwise, it was everything I remembered it was.  Technically, we spent most of our time around La Push, at Rialto Beach, which is one of the better beaches up there.  I took a photo tour of all the Twilight sites; it was spectacularly funny.

I have a dilemma.  The Twilight books are awful, literature-wise.  Yet there is something very compelling about them…  Something that makes you want to read them more than once or twice.  Is it that I want to live in a fantasy world where everything turns out right?  Probably.

It’s like a midlife crisis at 30.  I was talking with a friend and we wondered if perhaps we are going through this at our age (near 30, give or take a few years) rather than during midlife because we’re still single.  We have time to examine our lives and feel discontent.  Most of our friends are married with babies/small children at 30, which means they don’t have the luxury of time to consider.  Their lives are full of family.  So once the kids are a bit older, and they breathe again, they realize their lives aren’t just what they thought they would be.  Usher in the midlife crisis.  But we’re getting ours out of the way sooner, so just you wait.  Life is going to be great for me at 40-45 while everyone else is freaking out.

There’s a silver lining to every cloud.

