I’ve been reading feminist literature lately.  I’m currently in the midst of The Women’s Room, by Marilyn French.  I recommend it to everyone, male or female.  I’m only about halfway through, but it’s fantastic.

Before that, I re-read Margaret Atwood’s The Handmaid’s Tale.  I last read that in high school, so it had been some time.

Next on the list is The Stone Gods, by Jeanette Winterson.  A friend recommended it.

These books have been great.  They do concern me, though, in that they make me question even more if I would ever want to be married.  The more I read about feminism, the more I think about it and compare it to my life and the life I see others living, the more I think my singleness is a premium I am not willing to give up.

Oh, I’m not trying to say that marriage can’t be good.  I’ve  seen and heard of a few examples where it works and works well.  But I still feel like those examples are the exception, not the norm.  Because it seems that every woman thinks her man will be different, her marriage will be the exception.  For some, that is the case.  For most, it is not.

And, let us remember, there is nothing wrong with being single.  Nothing at all.  If you want to throw a Christian argument into the mix, the Apostle Paul said it’s better to be single.

The freedom is beautiful.

