One of the struggles I have with living at home with my family again (other than the ones you expect) is that I am environmentally conscious and my family, most definitely, is not.

This comes out in a variety of ways, such as refusing to compost, using too many plastic bags, and the family using paper plates/bowls, when we have real plates/bowls that can be washed and re-used.  Convenience reigns supreme for my family, and I just want us to be a little more aware of our impact on the earth.  However, any attempt at this is met with extreme resistance.

Why is this?  It’s the same resistance that meets my attempts at healthy eating in this house.

I’ve never fit in well with my family, and the older I get, the truer this becomes.  Let us all hope I can find a real job quickly.

