Can I just say how much I hate being poor?

And I’m all about the government helping out those who need help, but what about me?  Somehow, I don’t quite qualify for anything, it seems.  I make gross $28,000/year (roughly), but only bring home about $21,500.  And according to the DSHS website, I make too much to even get food stamps (which tends to be the bottom of the barrel when it comes to government assistance and which would help tons when I finally find an apartment).  I make little enough to apply for “affordable housing” apartments but they are actually above my budget.  And although I technically could qualify for low-income housing, the waiting lists are crazy long and tend to go to seniors, disabled folks, or people with families.

Today I got so mad at the whole situation that I ripped in half my absentee ballot that arrived in the mail and chucked it in the recycling.  I think the point was that if my government refuses to help me, why would I want to help them?

Listen, I have no problem living on a small budget: I’ve done it for years and will continue to do so.  But when I’ve paired down my budget to the bare necessities and still can’t quite afford the basics, I’m going to get upset.  I’m doing my part.  I’m working hard, helping out society, trying to be a good person.  And this is the thanks I get?

Fuck you, world.

 

(PS I promise that one of these days I will do my best to return to posts less angsty and angry.)

