I mentioned that my friend and I were hijacking NaNoWriMo.  I think it’s going to go well.  I finished my a short story I’d been working on for years, thank goodness.  Then I attempted to start a new story, but just didn’t like it.

So then I decided to revisit a story I had begun because of a dream.  And by begun, I mean I had written one or two paragraphs, just enough to remember the general gist of how the dream felt.  However, as I started writing, the direction the story took surprised me, pleasantly so.  It’s not like anything I’ve tried to write before, and I’ll have to do a bit of research to make sure its plausibly written within the time frame and location I put it in.  But I’m excited to try.  I’ve even looked up a few books to check out of the library for background information, since mine is lacking.  I hate anachronisms, so I want to avoid those as much as possible.

One of my friends read the bit I’ve written so far, and she had some great questions for me.  Questions I hadn’t really fully considered yet (although they had played at the corners of my mind).  So that was incredibly helpful, as they are going to give me direction, I think.  My plan is to write out some family trees and connections, sketch out a few of the characters (with words), and sort of figure out where I want this story to go.  I don’t want to merely let it take me anywhere, in case it takes me to a dead end.  The hard part is that I want to do all of that, plus continue to write.  But I think that if I want this story to be a success (for me), I need to do a bit of work first.  Sigh.

But I’m excited.  And excited to write for the first time in a long time.

