I have a goal to make as many pumpkin recipes as I can from two weeks before Thanksgiving until Christmas.  So far, I’ve made Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Bread, Pumpkin Pasties from my Harry Potter cookbook, Pumpkin Coffeecake (kind of my own recipe), and Double Layer Pumpkin Cheesecake (in a graham cracker pie crust).  I froze half of each of the last three recipes (the pumpkin bread was eaten, in full), so that I will have them on demand.  And I have several more in mind to make.  But let me tell you: I am loving this goal!  It is tasty and delicious.

Incidentally, last week I started getting up at 5am so I can get 20-30 minutes of exercise in before I start my day.  I plan to continue that and hopefully battle the inevitable holiday weight gain.

And speaking of my Harry Potter cookbook, today I made Molly’s Meatballs with Onion Sauce.  I made barley to go with it and froze most of it for lunches, but I had one meatball tonight.  So good!  So far, this cookbook is excellent.  I highly recommend it, if you are a Harry Potter nerd like me.

Thanksgiving went well, also.  I got to my parents’ house at 8am to help with cooking.  I stayed until 5:30pm, and would have stayed later, but I like to get home in time to relax before bed.  And since I go to bed so early…  Anyway, having a four day weekend was superb.  I watched Firefly all of Friday, then spent most of yesterday and today “getting things done.”  I do wish I had deep cleaned my bathroom as intended, though.  Alas, another time.  Soon.

