A few points of interest (at least, to myself):

1. In the past two months, I’ve somehow gained 10 pounds.  Okay, it’s not such a mystery: the weather turned colder and wetter, the baked goods increased… What do you expect?  Regardless, I’m back on livestrong and am going to work it right back off.  Sigh.  Of course, instead of working out this morning, I made a german pancake for breakfast (ha), but I’m determined to take a lunch walk today.  Determined! (Especially because I have this great pair of navy slim fit pants and an awesome shirt that will only fit in 10 pounds less.)

2. I’m trying to decide which group to join at church.  They only go every quarter or so (which, I kind of think is a weird way to do groups, but c’est la vie), so it’s not a huge commitment…  There are really only two to choose from.  One is the truth project from Focus on the Family.  Now, I’m not such a huge fan of FF, and I fear the class would be like first year bible college, and at some point I’d accidentally let it out that I’ve also been to seminary, and then it’d be ruined.  Plus, it’s hard to be quiet in those groups when you have so many things you want to add…  Okay, the other group is the FPU Dave Ramsey cult-class.  But the leaders are the main pastor and his wife, both of whom I think are fantastic.  I refuse to pay $100+ for a class I don’t need (and one that teaches me to not spend money), but maybe if I just purchased whatever book it uses?

Anyway, all the other groups are for specific folks, like women or men or mothers or newly marrieds or…  I laughed when I saw the group offerings, because they were almost exactly what I predicted, except for the truth project.

3. This phase of wanting children isn’t going away.  I think I mentioned it somewhere on here.  Am I merely being beaten down by social norms?  I still don’t think having my own flesh & blood children would be a good idea, and I still advocate for adoption, but there is something very compelling about the whole idea.  At least it’s not such a big problem since I am single.  I suppose this would be much more difficult if I ever managed to have an actual, serious relationship with someone.

I don’t know why it’s so hard for me to admit I want a family.  I used to be open about that, but then in my mid-late twenties, I changed my mind, or my tune, or something, and since then…  Well, as I often say to friends, it’s easier to say you don’t want something if you can’t have it anyway.  I mean, who wants to be the single woman in her 30’s that everyone knows wants to be married and have children, but is always single?  Then they just start feeling bad for you, or worse, try setting you up on blind dates.  I would much rather be happy I’m single and enjoy the aspects of my current life than to be constantly wishing for what I don’t have.  (But that seems to be a good strategy in general, if you ask me.)

I still maintain that it would be easier to be single if I had more friends.  OR, the other strategy is to start dating someone and then steal their friends.  Two birds with one stone.  Right??

