I made this yesterday to have for breakfast a few days this week.  It is so incredibly delicious that I thought I should share it with you.  The original recipe was taken from The Kitchn.  But I made a few changes.

1/2 cup farro, semi-pearled
1 cup water
1/8-1/4 tsp salt
2 small apples, cored, peeled, & chopped into small cubes
1-2 tsp butter
1 tsp cinnamon
2 tsp maple syrup
1/4 cup dried cranberries
1/4 cup walnuts, chopped
3/4 cup plain Greek yogurt (for serving)

Combine farro, water, and salt in pan. Set timer to 30 minutes.  Bring to boil, then let simmer, covered, until plump.

While farro is cooking, saute apples in butter for about 5 minutes.  Add cinnamon, cranberries, and walnuts.  Stir in maple syrup.  Let cook a few minutes on medium-low until warmed and combined.

Divide farro into three equal portions.  Top with three equal portions of apple mixture.  Mix in 1/4 cup Greek yogurt per serving.

It reheats wonderfully–obviously don’t add the yogurt until you’re ready to eat it.

And for another farro recipe, check this one out: One Pan Farro with Tomatoes.  The only differences I made were using 3 roma tomatoes instead of cherry tomatoes, adding 1/2 (?) tsp chili powder instead of red pepper flakes, and adding a can of kidney beans.  I left off the cheese and used dried basil when I added the chili powder.

Apparently I’m all about the farro lately. (I bought a bag of it this weekend, so have been looking up recipes.)

Enjoy!

