It’s the last day of 2014.  Who can even believe how fast the year has gone?

Anyway, I’ve been reading up on the different types of yeast. I’m an active dry yeast kind of girl, but so many recipes call for instant yeast that I thought I ought to double check the differences.  All I’ve found out is that what I’ve been doing already was exactly correct.  Ha!

That said, as much a fan as I am of traditional bread making (i.e. kneading by hand), I am kind of in love with the no-knead recipes.  I have one I love from King Arthur because it’s so easy.  I added a bit of ground flaxseed to today’s batch, but other than that, I tend to follow the recipe.  (Excepting yeast.)  Anyway, the great thing is that you can bake bits of it at a time.  The dough can stay in the refrigerator for about a week, so for that long, you could have fresh bread every day if you wanted.  (In small amounts, of course, and I halve the recipe to begin.)

If you don’t bake bread, you should give it a go.  There’s nothing quite better than the yeasty smell of fresh bread. The King Arthur recipe I linked is a good start if you’re afraid of kneading or things going wrong.

(Someday I’d even like to catch my own wild yeast from the air and keep a starter going instead of using commercial yeast.  But I admit that starts you down the crazy bread maker route.)

