I’ve been watching ridiculous amounts of Gilmore Girls lately.  I’ve also been devouring every Ivan Coyote book I can get my hands on.  This is in between a very active social life lately.

Oddly, I’ve been enjoying my social life.  I keep checking in with myself, making sure I’m not overdoing it or feeling stressed.  So far, so good.  I’ve had enough down time by myself that things have been good.  And the person I’ve been spending most of my time with doesn’t drain me, which really helps.  Actually, she more just makes me feel safe when I’m with her.  Don’t read into anything here–we’re just friends.

But, oh, the life of an introvert.  To sit on my couch and indulge in show after show.  Or book after book.  Sometimes, I put on a show I’m familiar with and then read a book at the same time.  I’m not even ashamed.  I wouldn’t say that I choose shows or books over people, but I would admit that they have equal standing in my heart…  The trick is getting someone to join in.

But back to Ivan.  Fuck, they’re amazing.  Something about their writing just speaks to me in a real place.  I’m not even saying that I feel the same or have gone through the same things–I haven’t, but there’s something very universal feeling about Ivan’s books.  Maybe universally queer.  You should check them out if you’re not already familiar.  Check out Ivan’s recent TedX talk.

