I’ve been working on the steps I need to take to accomplish my goals for 2016.  I updated my resume and my linkedin (with a lot of help from a friend).  I bought an interview outfit.  I started applying to jobs this week.

On Wednesday, I turned my resume in for a job that I thought looked interesting.  Thursday morning, I got an invitation for an interview on Friday.  Friday, yesterday, I had the interview.  It went really well, actually.  I wasn’t sure about the job until then–but the more I learned about the position and the company, the more I wanted to work there.  After the interview, I got an email asking for references.  So I suppose that means they truly are interested (which I thought they were).

Now, I won’t know until next week if they’re going to offer the job.  And they still have to offer the right salary (incidentally, I’m researching how to negotiate a salary just in case).

But those of you who know me know that I am a slow adapter.  I don’t do well with change, even if it’s change I’m choosing for myself.  When I started job hunting, I figured it would be a long time before I even heard back from someone.  To hear back so quickly and to have it go so well gives me all sorts of anxiety.

It’s not that I’m not ready for the next step.  I am.  It’s time to move on.  But if I get this job, it represents the ability to move to the city when my lease is up.  And that’s an even bigger change.  I want this job, so if I get an offer, I will be pleased.  But I’d be leaving my work friends and the comfort of a job I could do in my sleep.

So if I get this job, after job hunting for less than a week, then I will be working toward getting ready to move this summer.  And when I move, I will be closer to other queers, to women I want to date, to everything else.  It just seems to fast.  And maybe they won’t offer.  Or maybe they won’t be able to give me my salary requirements.  But maybe they will.  We’ll see.

