You guys. I am starting to think the universe is inherently against me dating.  I know this is irrational, but good gracious.

The woman I’ve been seeing?  The one I’m so taken with?  I just found out last night that she is joining the Marines.  Now, I knew she’d wanted to, but she thought it was a no-go.  Her recruiter called last night and she’s been accepted.  So now she’s swearing in tomorrow, and as soon as she’s ready to pass the physical entrance tests, she’ll be gone.

I have no idea where that leaves me, but I called a friend last night, and she said what I’m thinking: as soon as this woman is gone, she’s gone.  In fact, she may be gone already (for all intents and purposes).  And this has nothing to do with me; there’s nothing I can say except to be supportive.  She’s wanted this for years.  (I have both selfish reasons for wishing against it and actual not-a-fan-of-the-military reasons.)

I’m not even sure, at this point, if I’ll see her again.  I’m not sure what she’s thinking or what I’m thinking.  I go both ways: part of me wants to see her as much as I can before she’s gone, but the other part of me thinks it’s better to sever ties and move on now before I get more invested.

Maybe blogging about women jinxes them?  As soon as I blog about a woman, it ends…  You guys!  What if that’s true?!

So I’m disappointed, of course.  But I’m also starting to pick up the pieces again.  I’m not one to linger…

Insert sad face here.

